Hale’s Medications & Mothers’ Milk
Paid referenceSpringer Publishing, with authorship led by InfantRisk Center Director Kaytlin Krutsch and based on Thomas W. Hale’s work · United States
Visit the source site · Audited 2026-10-14
Who pays for it
Springer sells the reference, and its catalog listed the 2027–2028 22nd edition from US$90 at review; sales revenue, author royalties and pharmaceutical underwriting were not disclosed.
Status: Labeled
This is a paid reference with authorship overlapping InfantRisk, so the two are not independent checks. It is cited with a paid-reference label, edition and monograph date checks, and an outside cross-check.
How SafeMomma uses it
We check the edition and date of each monograph and do not count it as independent from InfantRisk.
The audit
- Who controls it
- Springer Publishing sells the reference, whose authorship is led by Kaytlin Krutsch and builds on Thomas W. Hale's work. Its editorial and research leadership overlaps with InfantRisk.
- Money
- The book is a paid Springer reference; the publisher catalog listed a 2027–2028 22nd edition from US$90 at review. Sales revenue, royalties and pharmaceutical underwriting were not disclosed in the reviewed pages.
- Conflict rules
- The public product page does not show an edition-level conflict policy or author financial disclosures. No pharmaceutical sponsorship was identified there, but the page alone cannot establish that none exists.
- Method
- Springer describes more than 1,300 medication monographs and lactation-risk categories. The full method, citations, evidence grading and monograph-level disclosures were not available on the product page, and the paid entries were not inspected.
- Dates on its pages
- InfantRisk's resources page refers to a 2025 edition, while Springer's catalog lists a 2027–2028 22nd edition; the labels are not reconciled, so the specific edition and monograph date require checking.
- Political exposure
- This is a commercial clinical reference, not a government publication. No source-specific political interference or content rewrite was identified in the reviewed materials.
- Money exposure
- Book sales are a documented commercial incentive, while no pharmaceutical funder or royalty amount was verified. Shared authorship and research ties to InfantRisk limit independence even without evidence of sponsor influence.
- Track record
- No independent book-wide validation, correction log or major correction episode was identified in the reviewed publisher and InfantRisk pages; the paid monographs were not inspected. None of b1-b5 supplied a source-specific Hale test finding.
Where this comes from
Incentive exposure describes pressure from money or politics, not whether the source is right. Funding alone does not show influence.